P.O. Box 14
00014 University of Helsinki
+358 2 941 24244
Irregular opening hours
NEW OPENING HOURS
Thu 12-20, Fri-Sun 12-16,
Welcome to Helsinki Observatory!
The thoroughly renovated Helsinki Observatory, originally designed by C. L. Engel and completed in 1834, has now reopened to the public on Tähtitorninmäki Hill. The building houses the Centre for Astronomy, a visitor centre of the Helsinki University Museum, where school children and other visitors can learn about space, astronomy and the history of astronomy.
The Helsinki Observatory collaborates closely with the Ursa Astronomical Association, the discipline of astronomy and LUMA Centre of the University of Helsinki as well as the City of Helsinki. The Observatory building accommodates not only the Centre for Astronomy, but also the offices of Ursa, the University's Almanac Office and Café Tiedekahvila.
* * *
Café Tiedekahvila's opening hours in summer 2016
in July Mon-Wed 11-18, Thu-Sat 11-20
in August Thu-Sat 11-20 (until 25.8.)
During the winter season the café is open by reservation only: tel. 0400 850 869, tarjoilu(at)tiedekahvila.fi.
* * *
Current special exhibition:
"Tension in the air"
30.6.2016 - 5.3.2017
- Blue line light installation
- May the Force be with Toys!
- Home at the Observatory